Guidance

NHS Guidance Mission Statement

The Northview High School Guidance department is committed to preparing all student for life’s next step through comprehensive academic, personal, and post-secondary guidance in collaboration with staff, parents, and community.


ATTENTION SENIOR PARENTS

Financial Aid staff from Grand Rapids Community College will be here to assist parents and students in completing the FAFSA. The date and time for this great opportunity is Thu., Nov. 16th from 6:00-8:00pm in the High School room #’s 1203/1204. A brief overview of the process followed by individual assistance will be offered. You will want to bring the following with you:

  • 2016 IRS Federal Tax Return
  • 2016 W-2 Forms
  • Social Security Cards (or other resident documentation)
  • Driver’s License
  • Current bank account balances
  • Current business/investment mortgage information, business and farm records, stocks, bonds and other investment records.They also encourage you (and your student) to apply for your FAFSA ID and password ahead of time. You will receive assistance on this as well if needed. The following You Tube video demonstrating this is also helpful: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=K7ihhGk8mCYChromebooks will be available (sign-in using student Google account) or your own personal device can be used.

ATTENTION JUNIOR PARENTS

Please plan to attend a Junior Parent/Student meeting on Thu., Nov. 16th at 6:30pm in the Performing Arts Center. Parents will have the opportunity to sign-up for an individual Junior student/parent/counselor appointment at this meeting. These appointments will take place November 21st through January 20th.

 


Counseling Department:   main phone number: 616- 361-3434,     fax number: 616- 365-6116

Mr. Michael Kapustka (mkapustka@nvps.net)

9th Grade  (A, B-BL, H, I, J, W, X, Y, Z)

10th Grade (A, B-BL, H, I, J, W, X, Y, Z)

11th Grade (A, B-BL, H)

12th Grade (A, B-BL, H)

Mr. David Witucki, Department Chair (dwitucki@nvps.net)

9th Grade (BO-G)

10th Grade (BO-G)

11th Grade (BO-G)

12th Grade (BO-G, Exchange Students)

Mr. Dion Charity(dcharity@nvps.net)

9th Grade (K-P)

10th Grade (K-P)

11th Grade (I-P)

12th Grade (I-P)

Mrs. Sarah Gammans (sgammans@nvps.net)

9th Grade (Q-V)

10th Grade (Q-V)

11th Grade (Q-Z)

12th Grade (Q-Z)

Mrs. Chris Atchison, (catchison@nvps.net)
Administrative Assistant
Mrs. Fernanda Hendee (fhendee@nvps.net)
Registrar

NHS Guidance Services


Requesting Transcripts616- 361-3433

Current Students:  Request transcripts through your Family Connection account

Alumni:  Contact Fernanda Hendee via email (fhendee@nvps.net)

SENIORS

Senior Audit class of 2018

Senior parent Meeting Sep. 2017

nacac_financial_aid_101

JUNIORS

class-of-2018-junior-parentfinal

classof2018junior-student-interview

CollegeBoard/Khan Academy test prep link:  https://collegereadiness.collegeboard.org

Sat. March 25th–8am  Free Practice SAT exam (Media Center)

MME–April 11-13, 2017

SOPHOMORES

10th grade meeting 2017

CollegeBoard/Khan Academy test prep link:  https://collegereadiness.collegeboard.org/psat-nmsqt-psat-10

FRESHMEN

9th Grade Powerpoint 2017

Freshmen tips for NHS parents 

8th Grade Orientation

Industry Visit–April 12, 2017


News

Counselor’s Corner

Counselors’ Corner – OCT 2017 (website)


NHS Academic Information

NHS Curriculum Guide for 2017-2018


Other Links/Resources

Parent VUE

STUDENT VUE

 

CREDIT RECOVERY PROGRAM (E2020)

FAMILY CONNECTIONS (Naviance)

Job & Career Exploration Sites

Military information