Sex Education Advisory Board

The State of Michigan states that every school district that chooses to implement sex education must have a sex education advisory board (SEAB).

    • The NVPS school board determines the terms of service, the number of members, and a membership selection process that reasonably reflects the school district population.
    • The SEAB must include parents of children attending Northview schools, pupils in the district’s schools, educators, local clergy, and community health professionals.
    • At least half of the members must be parents who have a child attending a school operated by NVPS. A majority of those parent members must not be employed by the school district.
    • Members must be given two weeks written or electronic notice of meetings.

SEAB is responsible for establishing program goals and objectives for pupil knowledge and skills that are likely to reduce the rates of sex, pregnancy, and STDs.

 

SEAB is responsible for reviewing and recommending materials and methods to the local school board, taking into consideration the district’s needs, demographics, and trends including, but not limited to, teenage pregnancy rates, STD rates, and incidents of sexual violence and harassment.

 

SEAB is responsible for evaluating, measuring, and reporting the attainment of program goals and objectives and making the resulting report available to parents in the district at least once every two years.

ADVISORY BOARD

Becky Turner (Co-Chair) – bturner@nvps.net

Rebecca Moore – rmoore@nvps.net

Amanda Alcumbrack – aalcumbrack@hotmail.com

Anna Trupiano – atrupiano@nvps.net

Jamey Vermaat – jvermaat@nvps.net

Hannah Borgman – hborgman@nvps.net

Michael Allen – mallen@nvps.net

Michael Hoard – michaelh32@nvps.net

Mark Spetoskey – mspetoskey@nvps.net

Todd Visser – tvisser@nvps.net

Jason & Rachel VandenBrink – svandenbrinks@gmail.com

Maxwell Kerry – mkerry@nvps.net

Erin Atkinson – eatkinson@nvps.net

Heidi Camp – hcamp@nvps.net

Joe Jones – joe@thehekimagroup.com

Julie Duffy (Co-Chair) – julie.duffy4@gmail.com

Melissa Healy – mhealy@nvps.net

Sarah Flinsky – SarahFlinsky@kisd.org

Cassie Traviss Dean – cdean@nvps.net

Kate Ward – kward@nvps.net

The State of Michigan requires that every school district have an identified Sex Education Director. Northview’s Sex Education Director is teacher and school counselor Becky Turner. If you have any questions about the SEAB or our district’s HIV/reproductive health/puberty programs, Ms. Turner may be reached at bturner@nvps.net, or by contacting Crossroads Middle School’s main office in the mornings, or Highlands Middle School’s main office in the afternoons.